HOME       Contact Us      Hire Us       Domestic Airlines        Railway Enquiry     Railway Booking     Hotels Abroad

December 12, 2010

Buddhist pilgrims from five ASEAN nations to get visa on arrival

     New Delhi: The government has decided to extend visa on arrival facility to Buddhist pilgrims coming from five more ASEAN countries - Cambodia, Philippines, Vietnam, Laos and Myanmar. The scheme would be operational from January 1,2011, the Ministry of Tourism has said. The single-entry visa, to be issued at Delhi, Mumbai, Chennai and Kolkata airports, will be valid for a month. "The decision was taken after due discussion with the ministries of External Affairs and Home. A formal announcement in this regard will be made soon," an official said. It is expected that this facility will attract more Buddhist pilgrims. Earlier, Singapore, New Zealand, Japan, Finland and Luxembourg were extended the visa on arrival facility. The International Finance Corporation and the Ministry of Tourism have inked an agreement under which the IFC has been given the responsibility of developing the Buddhist circuit in India.
More Travel News Headlines

Custom Search

Home    Contact Us
 Free contributions of articles and reports may be sent to indiatraveltimes@yahoo.com